A SET OF OFFICES AND ARTISANAL SURFACES

47'000 sqm
of mixed surfaces
for rent in Geneva

Home
Presentation
Access
History

Charmilles neighbourhood

The QUARTET development is ideally located on the Right Bank, in the Charmilles neighbourhood, near the downtown area. This up-and-coming, fast-changing neighbourhood of Geneva offers a dynamic setting that benefits from the attractiveness of being in town and having easy access.

Access

QUARTET is located in a neighbourhood near all amenities and just a few minutes from the downtown area. Access to the highway is easy and the site is just 10 minutes from Geneva Airport.

The numerous bus routes in the immediate vicinity of the complex lead directly to the Airport (line 10), Cornavin train station (6, 10 and 19) and also to place des Nations (11). Road links provide quick access to the industrial estates such as the ZIMEYSA.

On foot
Bus stop
1 min.
Parc des Franchises
1 min.
Parc Gustave & Léonard Hentsch
2 min.
Rhone river
20 min.
Planète Charmilles
1 min.
Fitness
1 min.
Public Transportation
Bus 6, 10, 11, 19
Cornavin Station
9 min.
Downtown
10 min.
Geneva International Airport
13 min.
Car
Geneva International Airport
10 min.
Cornavin Station
9 min.
Downtown
10 min.
Lausanne
45 min.
Zurich
3 h

History

The QUARTET project is located on the site of the former Hispano-Suiza works, one building of which has been preserved in the project. This building has been renovated and had storeys added to accommodate the HEAD (University of Art and Design).

The Hispano-Suiza brand was established in 1904, following a partnership between the Genevan Mark Birkigt and a Spanish industrialist. Initially, the company was active in the automotive sector and quickly became a world-famous name. At the same time, the factories developed aircraft engines for the Allies’ aircraft during World War One and continued to diversify until the military industry became their main business.

In 1938, Hispano-Suiza moved to the Rue de Lyon site to produce air-defence weapons and ammunition.

In 1970, following the decline of the sector, Mark Birkigt sold this site and arms production activities were to cease there in 1985. Although the Hispano-Suiza company is no longer in business, the site is still associated with this name, which made its history and reputation.

Set aus Büros und handwerklichen Oberflächen

47'000 m2 gemischte
Flächen zur Miete in Genf

Startseite
Präsentation
Anfahrt
Chronologischer Überblick

Quartier Charmilles

Der QUARTET Areal ist verkehrsgünstig und zentrumsnah am rechten Ufer der Rhône im Genfer Stadtteil Charmilles gelegen. Dieses beliebte Quartier ist in ständigem Wandel begriffen und bietet ein besonders attraktives, dynamisches Umfeld.

Anfahrt

Das Grossprojekt QUARTET befindet sich in einem nur wenige Minuten von der Genfer Stadtmitte entfernten Quartier mit vielfältigen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Die Autobahn ist leicht zugänglich und der Flughafen Genf in 10 Minuten erreichbar.

Zahlreiche Buslinien verkehren in unmittelbarer Nähe des Areals und bieten Direktverbindungen zum Flughafen (Linie 10), zum Bahnhof Cornavin (6, 10 und 19) und zur Haltestelle Nations (11). Ein gut ausgebautes Strassennetz sorgt für die gute Erreichbarkeit der Industriegebiete wie z. B. ZIMEYSA.

Zu Fuss
Bushaltestelle
1 min.
Franchise Park
1 min.
Gustave & Léonard Hentsch Park
2 min.
Rhône-Ufer
20 min.
Planète Charmilles
1 min.
Fitness
1 min.
Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Bus 6, 10, 11, 19
Bahnhof Cornavin
9 min.
Stadtzentrum
10 min.
Internationaler Flughafen Genf
13 min.
Auto
Internationaler Flughafen Genf
10 min.
Bahnhof Cornavin
9 min.
Stadtzentrum
10 min.
Lausanne
45 min.
Zurich
3 h

Chronologischer Überblick

Das Projekt QUARTET entsteht auf dem Fabrikgelände der ehemaligen Hispano-Suiza-Werke. Eines der Gebäude wurde erhalten, renoviert und aufgestockt, um die Hochschule für Kunst und Design (HEAD) zu beherbergen.

Die Marke Hispano-Suiza war 1904 aus dem Zusammenschluss des Genfer Konstrukteurs Marc Birkigt mit einem spanischen Industriellen hervorgegangen. Das zunächst in der Automobilindustrie tätige Unternehmen erlangte schon bald weltweites Ansehen. Gleichzeitig entwickelten die Ingenieure Flugzeugmotoren für die Kampfflugzeuge der Alliierten während des Ersten Weltkriegs. Nach einer weiteren Diversifizierung wurde die Rüstungsindustrie zur Kerntätigkeit des Unternehmens.

Im Jahre 1938 zog Hispano-Suiza an den Standort Rue de Lyon, um dort Flugabwehrwaffen und -munition zu produzieren.

Nach dem Konjunkturrückgang der Branche verkaufte Mark Birkigt das Grundstück im Jahre 1970 und die Waffenproduktion wurde 1985 eingestellt. Obwohl das Unternehmen Hispano-Suiza der Vergangenheit angehört, wird der Standort auch heute noch mit dem Namen assoziiert, der seine Geschichte und sein Renommee begründet hat.